University of Georgia

Athens, GA 30602

Building the new learning environment, maximizing research opportunities, competing in a global economy The University of Georgia, a land-grant and sea-grant university with statewide commitments and responsibilities, is the state's flagship institution of higher education. Founded January 27, 1785, by the Georgia General Assembly, it is also the state's oldest, most comprehensive and most diversified institution of higher education. Its motto, "to teach, to serve and to inquire into the nature of things," reflects the university's integral and unique role in the conservation and enhancement of the state's and nation's intellectual, cultural and environmental heritage. <br><br>The university has 16 colleges and schools offering 22 baccalaureate degrees in 140 fields, 30 master's degrees in 124 fields, 19 educational specialist degrees, four doctoral degrees in 87 areas and professional degrees in law, pharmacy and veterinary medicine. UGA libraries, with more than 4 million volumes and one of the nation's largest map collections, are ranked among the nation's best research libraries.With the main campus in Athens (60 miles northeast of downtown Atlanta) and extended campuses in Gwinnett County, Griffin and Tifton, the University of Georgia enrolls 33,831 students. Most UGA students (79 percent) are from Georgia. However, enrollment includes students from other U.S. states (15 percent) and 127 other nations (6 percent).